NEW: Pre-Congress Course registrations

Dear Colleagues


We are opening registrations for the Pre-Congress Course only. All Congress registrations have a free Pre-Congress registration included. If you are interested in attending the Pre-Congress course only but do not want, or cannot attend the Congress, you can register at a reduced fee of 40€.

The pre-Congress Course is coordinated by our esteemed and highly qualified colleague Josep Loreta-Trull from Hospital del Mar, Barcelona, and has the contributions of some of the best ultrastructural Pathologists of the day:


Eric Wartchow, Denver CO, USA

Elba Turbat-Herrera, Shreveport, LA, USA

Alessandro Franchi, Firenze, Italy

Guillermo Herrera, Shreveport LA, USA

Kyriacos Kyriacou, Cyprus

Ingrid Hausser, Heidelberg, Germany


Do not miss this opportunity of getting an high quality introduction to this essential diagnostic method! Ultrastructural Pathology, although replaced in several of its applications by the rise of easier alternatives, is increasingly becoming recognized as essential for correct diagnoses in many conditions. Facilities and expertise for performing these methods are available in dedicated laboratories.


A.P. Alves de Matos

Chair of Ultrapath XVIII

Late breaking Submissions!

Dear Colleagues, Although the deadline for Abstract presentation has expired, we will accept late breaking submissions from now onwards. We would appreciate it if these are sent as soon as possible as we can not guarantee that they will be included in the Abstract Book if they are sent too close to the Congress date. These contributions will be directed to the Poster sessions by default, although some selected contributions may be recommended for oral presentation by the referees if there is available space in the sessions.
Please let us know about your work. The congress organization is working for delivering a useful and high quality experience to the participants and your contribution is important and most welcome.
A.P. Alves de Matos
Chair of Ultrapath XVIII

Dear Colleagues and Fellow Microscopists

On the behalf of the Society for Ultrastructural Pathology, the Organizing Committee of the Ultrapath XVIII Congress wish to extend to all our most friendly salutations and let you know that preparations for the Congress are quickly being carried out.
Ultrapath XVIII will take place in Lisbon, July 11 to 15 of 2016. Lisbon is an exciting venue for the meeting, as all of you that have spent time there certainly know. For all the others this is a unique opportunity of getting a first acquaintance with a beautiful, friendly and affordable city and with its historical and cultural background. The Social Programme will reveal some of its main secrets and will bring you to stunning places nearby.
Electron microscopy is nowadays a method whose importance for diagnosis and Pathology is well established. Unfortunatelly, the method remains poorly known by the medical profession and is often not part of the standard medical curriculum. Further factors like the lack of proper facilities and experience for performing ultrastructural diagnosis have to be addressed. Electron microscopy combined with molecular technologies create a powerful new approach that the Society must foster and promote.
Courses, meetings and active support to existing and new facilities are needed. Ultrapath XVIII aims to make a strong contribution to this discussion by setting up a comprehensive programme where microscopists can meet and discuss their work. It will also focus on the possible diagnostic role of new microscopy methods that are re-shaping the way we perform and perceive microscopy, as well as broader applications to pathology research that ultimately constitute the engine for innovation in our area of activity.
The meeting will feature a pre-meeting course organized by our experienced colleague Joseph Lloreta-Trull that will take place at the Egas Moniz Institute, near Lisbon. This will constitute a very important tutorial for all.

From the Organizing Committee
Prof. A.P. Alves de Matos (Chairperson, President-Elect of SUP)

Additional information